hockayak

Hi all,

I have been trying to find out about a GVM upgrade for our Ute, for towing a caravan. I seem to be finding a range of information about legalities etc. Many places seem to offer GVM suspension upgrades, but then there is Lovells. Are Lovells a manufacturer of a particular upgrade (i.e. just one option, vs old man emu, arb, pedders etc) or are they the only people doing a full, legal GVM upgrade? I've literally even heard people on campsites raving about Lovells, nay, fighting about the fact that all of the others are illegal etc. But anyway, i was just thinking of going into TJM/ARB etc and getting a few hundred kg extra payload. Is that a reasonable option?

Pls, im new at all of this. Can i assume that this is a different option to a lift kit? Do you have to pick GVM upgrade over lift, or can you do both?

Regards, Hock

Albynsw

There are several companies that can offer you a GVM upgrade including Lovells. Lovells has an excellent reputation in the industry, I have their springs in my 79 as part of a GVM upgrade and are planning on fitting their GVM kit on my next vehicle

A GVM upgrade is basically documenting and legalising your vehicle to carry a larger payload but you can also fit the same components without the documentation and it would be just as capable but not legal.

What vehicle do you have as the outcome and best solution may vary
For instance with a 79 a Lovells GVM upgrade still allows you to tow 3.5t whereas the OME version derates your towing capacity by the GVM upgrade amount. That may be different with other vehicles

Albynsw

Do you need a GVM upgrade or just new suspension?
There is a big difference financially

cam04

Yeah fair enough, its a 2017 Ranger XLT. Any ideas specific?

There used to be widespread GCM upgrades but that has all fallen down in recent times.
Ergo any extra payload you use will reduce your towing capacity.
Yes, gvm upgrades are a lift kit of sorts.