What mods should i do to make my 4wd more capable?

Hey guys i'm new to this page just wondering if anyone has any ideas on what i should spend my money on next to make my hilux more tougher to go more places this is an old picture when i first got it..
i am in the process off putting bigger wheels on it.. this is my first 4wd i have recently put all new Raw suspension in it with new leafs
70301005_105881290793396_5107378867052478464_o.jpg

Batts88

I wouldn't jump the gun and spend heaps on stuff you may never use you first need take your time to learn how to drive a 4wd and learn what it is capable of and most importantly what your caable of doing. You may find for the places you go at the moment it's more than adequate. You've done suspension, tyres it has a snorkel go out an enjoy it if you start fitting diff locks you'll probably break something and get stuck in the bush as they put stress on the drive line as your big muddies have already added stress to the driveline. Trust me a stock 4wd can go further with an experienced driver behind the wheel than a modified one with all the gear on it and it takes yrs to learn either way.

Save your money for the repairs you'll need to fix things that break or wear out from age I've been doing it for 31yrs.

Last edited:

Batts88

Also learning about 12v power consumption is very handy I would check how many amps your lights are drawing when on parking lights included and check the size of your alternator it may not be big enough if you have them all on. Avoid using spotties or high beam when winching or when running an air compressor.

Hoyks

A couple of jerry cans, tyre gauge, 12V compressor, fridge, swag and learn how to drive what you have.
I've been off roading for 30 years, only got a 4x4 25 years ago and only got a diff lock 4 years ago because the car came with one (and I chose it because it had one). You will be surprised where it will go and if you can't, then 99.9% of the time there is a chicken track.