Warm up, cool down... among other things.

SlimTim

Hi all,

Haven't been on the forum much lately. I've been out using my new collie on some, mostly moderate to easy, tracks as I'm a full beginner. I've got a couple of questions I hope you lovely people could help me with.
  • How long do you think we should be warming up our 4-bys?
  • How long should we cool them down to avoid turbo heat soak?
  • What exactly is turbo heat soak?
  • What other problems could be encountered from not letting your car cool down?
  • Whats the best way to clean your engine bay?
Thanks in advance.
Tim.

Marck

Any engine should be at full operating temp before you work it hard. For me that's probably 15 mins after coolant temp reaches opperating temp.

The following is what I have picked up over the years but not sure how much of it is true it just seems logical to me.

As for cool down I think it depends on how hard you have been working. Turbos work at very high rpm and temps so you are trying to give the cooling system time to draw heat away. From what I understand is if you shut down when everything is very hot and things cool at different rates you stress components. If you can remove the heat in an even and controlled manner this problem is reduced. The other thing is with oil cooled turbos is that if the oil stops pumping and the turbo is at 600 degrees the oil in the turbo will get hotter than it should

The other thing I have been told is if you shut down rapidly (stall) after a hard run you get a preasure wave in the intake and when this oscillates it can violently stall the turbo and damage it. This was on petrol sports cars but it may transfer to Diesel engines if it's true.

I'm interested in what people who know what they are talking about have to say.

Batts88

If you have a manual in the glove box it may say something about warming up the donk.