Change background image

Tyre deflator

Discussion in 'General 4x4 Discussion' started by Aza013, Apr 8, 2018.

1. Aza013

Aza013 Member

IMG_0730.JPG g'day everyone.
    Just interested to see if anyone has used these tyre deflator units before?
    They sound ok, but I'm only new to the game so they could be shit lol
    Any info would be great thanks.

2. BlueCollie

BlueCollie Active Member

I've never personally used them but I've heard enough negative feedback on them to not spend my money on a set. I'm looking for a deflator at the moment and I'm leaning towards the valve stem removal type with the guage attached that you can pick up for about $20.

3. Albynsw

Albynsw Well-Known Member

Had a set in the glovebox for over ten years
    I changed to the ezydeflator type about 9 years ago
    I prefer the flexibility of changing pressures

4. Aza013

Aza013 Member

Thanks for the feed back.
    I have seen mixed feelings on them when I did a search, a lot due to as said one set psi.
    But I wanted to see what ppl on this forum would say about them ( real ppl )
    Bad thing is I ended up getting a set :( oh well lol.
    Might set them at 25 psi then use it as a start point ( due to the challenger be one of the low to mid range weight 4x4's. )
    Or would that be to low?

5. TonyF8

TonyF8 Active Member

Well it really is determined by what sort of terrain you are traveling on, weight of vehicle etc, its not a case of one pressure suits all.

Beever likes this.
  6. Aza013

Aza013 Member

Yep agree. I'm thinking along the lines of rock, dirt/mud medium level 4wd tracks.
    But then you have weather conditions and so on.......
    So in a way I'm thinking these things will just sit in the tool kit in the back or the glove box lol.
    Or just set them up as a start point for sand/beach trips.

7. boobook

boobook Well-Known Member

Their slogan is right. They DO let you down. I had 3 sets in the glovebox for years and used them. 18PSI, 24 PSi and 28 PSI.