Total noob, help me pick a off road vehicle

aleks001

Hi Everyone,

I thought it would be a good idea to get some peoples experienced opinions on what I actually need for the type of 4x4 driving I plan to do. My biggest issue is that I don't know what's out there and I would hate to have spend top dollar on a ute when I could have gotten around in a forester :p

Budget: Up to $60K
Where I plan to go. I have small children (under 5) so for the near future nothing too far, but I care a lot about on road comfort, that doesn't mean I wouldn't sacrifice some for off road performance, but it is important to me. Eventually though I do plan to take it across Australia. So reliability and durability is very important as I plan to keep it till it's ready for the scrap yard.

Initially my main trips will be to beach and bush camping spots, I have no intention of taking on 4wd tracks just for the fun of it, basically If I don't have a reason to take a track I wont take it. If there is a difficult track to get a to a good camp site I'm all up for it, but I'm not into challenging myself or the car, mainly because of my high budget and I would cringe every time I would scratch or scrape the car. I don't have issues if this happens on my way somewhere, just making a point that if it can be avoided easily, I will avoid it.

The vehicle will also be used as daily i.e shopping, dropping kids of etc but I don't have to do a lot of driving to and from work, thanks to COVID my workplace will let me work from home indefinitely. I plan to regularly go camping, fishing, hit up nice picnic areas etc Eventually probably will need to tow a small trailer for dirt bikes, jet skis and potentially a boat at some time (Nothing to huge, one of those 6-8 people ones).