Change background image

Subaru Forester v Hyundai Santa Fe

Discussion in 'Information For Newbies' started by 6speedmanual, Feb 8, 2015.

1. 6speedmanual

6speedmanual New Member

Hi all,

I'm a newbie. Don't own a 4wd but thinking of getting 1. I would really like to take it to Mungo National Park, Fraser Island, Tasmania, Kakadu, Bungle Bungle, Wolfe Creek and maybe Cape York.

Comments please...

2. Aaron Schubert

Aaron Schubert Moderator

The biggest problem with 'soft roaders' is the lack of clearance. If there is a good chance you will be driving on soft beaches, through mud or any rock work, you are better off looking for something with a bit more clearance.

These will do light beach work without a problem, but I don't believe they have low range, and will struggle with big ruts (often on soft beaches!)

Aaron

3. devo73

devo73 Banned

Well the new tv ad says the Subaru outback can go anywhere, so the forester must be awesome...i would get 1 of those :)

4. Albynsw

Albynsw Well-Known Member

That category of vehicle will restrict where you can go in a lot of places and you will find yourself pushing the boundaries of its capability.
    If you are seriously wanting to get to some of these areas you may want to consider a more suitable vehicle first up rather than looking to make another change in the near future.
    If you are going to stick to some of the milder stuff they will be fine

5. Toddyh

Toddyh Well-Known Member

I owned a modified X-Trail and took it all round the place including Central Australia. It did a lot of what I wanted all be it not as easily as something with low range. I've since upgraded to a Challenger and it's no contest. So much more capability and confidence off road.