Some winch questions

Ron0z

I'm still learning about my new (used) car. It came with a winch. I asked the previous owner to demonstrate it. It had a couple of switches on the dash (an isolation switch, and one for in/out operation). It also came with a remote.

The demo included the seller grabbing hold of the rope and taking up the slack as the rope unwound a meter or so. He then rewound it back in. It seemed to work okay. A simple demonstration that tells nothing other than that the motor turns.

Okay, I'm home and figured it's about time I check it out with some load. Didn't get that far before the battery in the remote seemed to give out. Anyway, a couple of things took my attention. One thing at a time.

As the rope is unwinding and I'm dragging it up the driveway. Of course, I can see what's left on the drum as it's unwinding. I peer in at the drum and see the rope is not wrapped nicely. What do I mean by nicely? Well, if I were to climb inside an elevator or onto a crane and check out the cable around the drum I'd expect to see it neatly stacked in a layer, and as the next layer is built up as the drum pulls the cable in, I would expect to see the cable stack neatly on top. I would expect to see the cable wrapped neatly left to right, then right to left, and so forth. The rope on this winch was bunched and bundled in a pattern that looked so wrong. A dog's breakfast. It struck me that such an untidy pattern could cause a jam. Now, what I'm inclined to do is unwrap all of that rope and then wind it in carefully and watch how it wraps around the drum making sure it's done nice and neat.

First, a few little questions:
Do winches usually stop when the rope is all the way out?
Will I be left with a rope in my hand and nothing attached to the drum?

But here's the main question:
When stuck in the woods and you need to use the winch, what prevents the rope from bunching up in a mess when reeling it in?

John U