Change background image

Simpson Desert Must Haves

Discussion in 'Information For Newbies' started by nico87, May 12, 2017.

1. nico87

nico87 New Member

Hi All,

In a couple of weeks my partner and i are heading into desert for a few weeks and have been collecting things to take with us. In terms of recovery equipment we have the following:
    Snatch Strap
    Rated shackles
    Rated recovery points on the car
    Recovery trax
    Bottle Jack and jack pad
    Compressor/tyre gauge
    Tyre repair kit
    Shovel
    2 spare tyres
    Haynes car manual
    Tool box with socket set, screwdrivers, hammer, shifters, multigrips, duct tape, cable ties, rope.
    7 x 20L of diesel jerrys between two cars

We will get the car serviced thoroughly before we leave but I often hear of people taking spare shocks etc and whilst im relatively handy with tools im no mechanic so feel that maybe a bit extreme for us. So would anybody have any hints on what else to take based on their experiences and what we could realistically expect to get damaged or not.

Thank you
    Dan

2. Albynsw

Albynsw Well-Known Member

Hi Dan, I have done a shock in the Simpson with my previous vehicle and have a spare permanently mounted up on my chassis rail as a just in case with my current one but just the same I don't think I would bother carrying a spare one if you are already pretty well loaded and your current ones are in good condition
    Weight is your enemy on those sort of trips so don't take anything you can do without. I took two spares the first time out there but the last seven or eight times there have only carried one and a good repair kit. I do run light truck tyres though.
    It is not a difficult trip to do as long as you take it steady so as not to break anything,

Do you have a UHF and a sat phone or PLB to take with you as well?

3. nico87

nico87 New Member