Change background image

Scenic spots for photography how to find?

Discussion in 'Information For Newbies' started by Danielcphotography, Apr 12, 2018.

1. Danielcphotography

Danielcphotography New Member

Hi guys,

Bit of an odd question for you all. I am a photographer and run my own business selling my photos (as fine art for the wall).

I've recently moved from Darwin down to the Newcastle area, and sold my Navara up there.

I'm about to buy a 4WD (likely a mid 2000's Patrol) but that's not the purpose of my query here.

My main question is, are there any great resources I can use to find those amazing secret/beautiful but hard to reach spots? I've been reading trip reports on a few 4wd mags etc which is giving me a few idea's, but it seems that most of the prettiest spots aren't marked out much.

Cheers,
    Dan
    Www.danielcourtney.com.au

2. zookilux

zookilux New Member

I think a photography course is more relevant. A good photographer can make a photo of a rusted out Camry look amazing, whereas there'll be 35,000,000 shit photos of Ayer's Rock that look like rubbish on Instagram.

richardlnsw likes this.
  3. Ziggy

Ziggy Well-Known Member

The pretty spots have been shot to death.
    There are no secret spots any more.

4. Danielcphotography

5. Danielcphotography

So no-one should bother taking photo's any more?

6. richardlnsw

richardlnsw Moderator

I think what they mean is just pack the car, take the camera and explore. What one person regards as a beautiful spot might be crap to another. What we think is crap might be stunning though the lens of your camera.
    You have stunning coastline around Newcastle, head west to Watagans or north to Barrington Tops.
    Hope this helps.
    Richard

7. zookilux

zookilux New Member

Oh dear.. I should have paid more attention to your username :)