Road handling on bitumen - slip sliding along.

Ron0z

I'm new to 4WDs. So, bear that in mind. My Suzuki Jimny is still new to me. Its been raised 50mm and has larger profile tyres (B F Goodrich Mud-Terrain T/A is what they are).

I had a not so interesting experience on a little run from home to the local shopping centre and back. I was driving on bitumen in the suburbs. It had been raining and was still raining, but only enough for me to put the wiper on once and then off again every minute or so. It's not that Jimnys are super powerful (they're not), but in getting up a (not so steep) hill I felt the wheels spinning a bit. I'm not the type of bloke who would do that deliberately. Then about 1 km further on I'm making a LH turn off the main road onto my own street and I lose traction (I think that it was overseer. It turned more than I wanted it to). I'm aiming at the LH kerb. A slight steering correction, and oops I overcorrected and I find myself travelling sideways and aiming for the RH kerb. I think that happened about 3 times before I got it under control. (Well, I didn't really have control when it comes to it.) Thankfully, I didn't hit anything, not even the kerb. My initial thought was that the bloody tyres are bald. So, I had a look at them. They look okay to me.

So here's the thing: Is that what you have to put up with when you're car is running around town in Mud-Terrain tyres?

1648962567280.png

Krumpy

From the look the rh tyres do look on the way out, they could also just be old and hardened which could cause that sort of traction loss.
Muddies are definitely terrible in the wet but it sounds like there’s another issue for it to be behaving that badly. I’d be checking how old the tyre are (you can google up what all the letters on the sidewall mean and one of them will be date of manufacture). The other thing I’d be doing is getting the suspension and steering components checked over to make sure there isn’t an issue there.

Ron0z