Purchasing new 79 series (can't wait) - Tray and Canopy advice..

jdmax

Hi All,

I'm joining the Toyota and specifically, the 79 series family, cannot wait to get my hands on the new rig! This will be my ultimate setup but of course, I have a limited budget.

I want to get some opinions.. The OEM tray costs around $4.8k, should I put that 4.8k into a custom tray and canopy instead or get the OEM and fit a canopy to it? My budget is around 10k, any advice? Are there any particular fabricators in the Melbourne area anyone recommends? I'm fairly new to the custom canopy market, so a little unfamiliar oif what I need to cater for..

Cheers,
James

CaptainBanana

Boss aluminium quoted me something like seven-and-a-half grand for a tray and basic canopy which is a hell of a lot better than just another overpriced Toyota accessory. There are quite a few quality manufacturers around but there are far far far more straight from China manufacturers around so pick wisely.

G_ute

I have an OEM Toyota steel tray on mine (which in my case is made in Australia by 'Triple M Truck Bodies')
Its a quality unit but having seen some very nice custom trays out there I would go custom next time, with matching tool boxes.
There are quite a few custom fabricators around now.
One thing I want to add to mine is more tie down points on the floor of the tray, for cargo cases, etc.

jdmax

Guys, thanks a lot for all the responses, all have given me something to research into. I'll keep you guys posted on what I choose and will upload some pics once the build is done. Cheers

jdmax

Hi Guys,

So I've chosen my canopy. I'm still a bit hung up on the design (I know it's personal preference). Just wanted a bit of advice on whether (for weight distribution) it's better to go with a 3/4 canopy if I'm hanging my spare off the back?

Here's the design, any feedback is welcome:

1605664489946.png