Novice needs advice (Spun out in the wet)

poverty rider

Hi all,

I have a problem I need help with.

As anybody in SEQ would know it has been non-stop raining here for the last 24 hours or so. Last night, I was returning home from a family visit when my car spun out nearly 180 degrees on a roundabout. By no means am I a novice driver but I am a newbie behind the wheel of a 4WD and I have only owned this vehicle for less than a month. Fortunately, due to good luck and not good management, no damage occurred this time. My biggest worry is I don't know why I lost traction.

Details of incident.

Vehicle: 2005 Mazda Bravo B4000 with aluminium tray

Tyres: Rear - Hercules Terra Trac A/T 265/70R15
Front - Falken Wildpeak A/T 265/70R15

I approached the roundabout at a moderate speed (28kph according to my dashcam), and entered the roundabout. When I reached the apex of the turn I felt the rear end of the vehicle beginning to drift wide. My first thought was to lose speed and, probably incorrectly in retrospect, applied the brakes. At this point all wheels locked up and the car increased speed (by 4kph) and went into a spin until it stopped.

There was no visible debris or oil etc. on the road.

Once I had my car pointing in the right direction I continued my trip to a 2nd roundabout 500 metres further up the road. This roundabout has a gentler curve than the former and I experienced no issues.

Do I have crap tyres? Did the rear end give way because of lack of weight? Are there other factors I haven't considered?

I would certainly appreciate any advice or comments that better informed people can offer.

cheers

Brian

Tink