Change background image

New member from Melbourne (Mercedes ML270 CDI)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Cammysneddz, Dec 3, 2018.

1. Cammysneddz

Cammysneddz New Member

newbie here. Done a bit of 4x4 driving in company cars I used to own. Recently bought an old Mercedes ML that I intend on lightly modifying to tackle some mild trails and generally get me and the family out of the city for an odd weekend here or there. So far I’ve bought a second set of wheels with some larger muddies and just generally tidied it up a bit. Muddies not fitted yet.

Attached Files:

4x4admin, Bomber2012 and Albynsw like this.
  2. mikehzz

mikehzz Well-Known Member

Welcome. The 270 has the same 5 cylinder as the 2.7 Grand Cherokee. Keep an eye out for the "black death". The 20 cent washer on the injector fails causing black gunk to form around the injector and bingo black smoke everywhere. A real bastard to fix in the Jeep, you have to drop the motor out to get at the back two injectors. Hopefully easier in the Merc. Nice motor otherwise though.

BTFIVO likes this.
  3. Cammysneddz

Cammysneddz New Member

Funny you should mention that. It’s in the shop right now having an injector leak looked at. Seems like it’s just started to happen on injector one. But yes. Supposed let easier as better access on the Mercs. Great motor tho. I love it.

BTFIVO likes this.
  4. mikehzz

Get them all done, it's easier if they haven't been compromised. The new seals are supposed to be a lot better.

BTFIVO and Bomber2012 like this.
  5. 2002GU3

2002GU3 Well-Known Member

G'day mate, welcome to earth

6. Cammysneddz

Cammysneddz New Member

It’s just the one that’s being done. Luckily I’ve got a warranty on the car and it’s being covered under that. If another goes it won’t cost me anything anyways. I’ll just remove the engine cover every now and then to make sure all is well so I can catch it in time if another one does let go.

Attached Files:

7. mikehzz