Land Rover Discovery 1, decent or money pit?

Crackin

Hi,

Originally I was looking at spending upto 20k on a 4x4 ute but now I am also considering getting a cheaper older 4x4 and have seen several Discoverys from 4-10k.

I have read a bit about them and it seems they can get rusty especially around the boot area, my mechanic friend had one a few years ago and he really liked it but I'm no mechanic so a car that is always in need of repairs is no good for me

$4k not sure of year, auto, 380k kms
$8.5k, 2002, auto, 235k kms
$10k, 2001, auto, 200k kms

They all seem to have done a lot less kms than the utes of similar ages I have been looking at.

Is the cheap price a false economy though? Are parts for these old discoverys going to be more expensive than for a common ute?

Thanks

CaptainBanana

Let's go with a 20k budget you'll be able to buy one for 3 or 4 k spent 15 k on it in the first year and then probably 5 to 10 k every year there after, I mean that's about the same as repayments on a brand new car but you could do it.

synchro

So what engine you looking for? There are 3 diesels and 3 petrol V8s? looking for a Disco 1 or Disco 2? The years quoted are Disco 2 - TD5 Diesel or 4.0 Petrol V8.

Parts are cheap as chips if you know where to buy, servicing is easy but like all vehicles will cost if you cannot do it yourself. Toyota drivers are always jealous of them so they will say they are unreliable - no worse than the Jappers.

You clearly need to do more research and this is not the forum to come for that on Land Rovers. Go to AULRO.Com

shanegtr

my opinion as a DIY mechanic - they are getting on in years now so like any other vehicle of a similar generation they are going to take some maintenance to keep on the road. And like other similar age cars they are also a fair bit simpler than what you get now so they are easier to maintain. Good thing is being older all the common issues are well known so the fixes shouldn't be stupidly expensive

discomatt