Change background image

HELP Dual Battery (need info)

Discussion in 'Information For Newbies' started by Holden0018, Feb 15, 2017.

1. Holden0018

Holden0018 New Member

Hi all i am new to the dual battery scene and am wanting to eventually when i get a 4wd set up a dual battery to run, 40l fridge (thinking of getting engel have heard nothing but good things about them) and a few camp lights and chargers for phone.
    This is my understanding of a set up:
    Main battery -
    DC TO DC Charger - wanting to know peoples experience with brands have heard of redarc. also brands to stay clear of
    auxillary battery in a battery box (agm, lead acid, calcium?, deep cycle battery) - peoples experience with size and brands to stay clear of
    appliances (fridges, lights, chargers) - also is there a 'thing'not sure what it would be called maybe a 12volt panel that if you were to mount a auxillary battery under the bonnet how does it give power to the appliances considering it isnt sitting in a battery box. like is there a battery box type set up with 12v socket, anderson plugs and usb ports that can be mounted into a tray of ute.

i am wanting a set up for a weekend camp around so wanting to stay clear of solar. would be camping for a weekend with driving in between so im thinking a 100ah battery or 120ah battery should be sufficient if set up to charge from dc to dc would last a weekend away powering a fridge 40l and a couple of camp lights and phone chargers.

also i have seen mixed reviews about AGM batteries they seem to be the go and some have said they cant be ruin empty where others have said it is fine to run them empty and there is no harm.

one last question i have seen australian direct do a complete kit is this an easy option then i could take to auto elec to install

what have others payed for their set up and if so could you talk me through it

THANK YOU for your input is it much appreciated

Cheers!

2. Tink

Tink Well-Known Member