G'day......

Roachie

Just thought I'd join up to this forum....have been a member of another forum for many years but the mods are getting a bit too precious, so I'm moving to a more congenial site.... ;)

Anyway, some of you might already know of me (your bad luck I'm afraid ..... hahaha). But for those who don't, my background is that I learnt to drive a double differ up in the highlands of PNG whilst posted there with NAB back in the late 80's. After returning to Aust in 1990 I bought my own 4x4 (a 1990 Maverick, petrol). Soon realised that diesel was the better option, so in 1995 I bought a 1993 RX Patrol 4.2 diesel and added a Safari turbo. Replaced that in 2000 with a new 4.2TD GU Patrol. In 2006 I found my current rig on ebay and bought it sight-unseen.

This current rig is a 2000 GU also. However, the original owner of this one (a WA resident) obviously had bigger plans for the beast and drove it off the show room floor, straight to Brunswick Diesel for a heart transplant. The Chev 6.5 V8 diesel donk was plonked in and has been there ever since; now having done over 250,000klm.

The original owner also spent a lot of cash to get the wagon converted to a dual cab and added a steel canopy with side-lifting gull-wing doors. This measures 1200mm long x 1900mm wide and about 900mm high.

I've done quite a few other mods to it since purchasing, including a 4" suspension lift with associated adjustable panhards, drag link and caster plates etc.

Lighting is achieved with 35w HID hi/lo inserts aided by 4 Lightforce 170s that have been professionally converted to 50w HID. All other lights (parker, indicator, tail/brake etc) have been converted to LED. However, I still have 4 "work lights" that are the basic old 55w halogen type.....these will be converted in due course.

There is a heap of other b/s I could write about the rig's set-up, but I would only bore the be-jeezus out of you, so I won't bang-on any more.

Cheers
Roachie

deepop

4x4 Earth Contributer