First 4WD - What are some good options?

What do you reckon I should do?

• Total voters

ajengineer

G'day all,

Bit of a newbie question here, and one that I'm sure has been asked to death, but I'm kinda stuck. I've been wanting to get into 4x4ing for a while now and have gotten to the point where I'm actively looking for a vehicle to buy. A bit of a background: I'm a uni student looking for first car and 4x4, currently have a budget of around 8k. I've been looking at diesels mainly because of the low-end torque and fuel consumption. Only thing is I live in the suburbs and it'd be my daily, so I've been looking for something that has at least dual front airbags for a bit of safety because there's no shortage of crazy drivers close to the city. The only cars I've seen that fit that criteria so far are some clapped-out Pajeros or 3rd gen Hilux Surfs, but the 3rd gen surfs are all imports and so I can see parts being an issue. There are some 90 series Prados in that price range too that look pretty good, but I haven't seen any with dual airbags so far. The car would be seeing 4wd tracks mainly during uni break and the occasional weekender.

Would anyone here have some ideas as to what cars are decent and would fit the bill? Or am I better off: A) buying a cheap daily with airbags, and an older patrol or cruiser or something that I can stick on club plates and just drive on the weekend/during break? or B) Doing a bit of saving and paying a bit more for something?

Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated, I've been googling and perusing carsales and gumtree for too long and applying filters to see what cars came up, it's probably about time I asked some experts hahaha.

Cheers guys
Al

CaptainBanana