EFS Suspension - BT50

matty_turbo

Hi,

I've recently purchased a new Jayco Outback Starcraft and also purchased a BT-50.

My wife and I are taking our 3 year old around Australia for 12 months to get away for a while.

I'm looking to upgrade the suspension in the BT-50 adding a 2 inch lift but trying to keep it as comfortable as possible. I know I'm not going to get a car like ride but would like to keep the ride as comfortable as possible. No bone jarring stiff rear suspension.

I'm just wondering about the EFS range for the BT50 and what it's like against the standard suspension.

Our van is 2400kg atm with a ball weight of around 150kgs.

Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
Matt

BTFIVO

Might I suggest changing your shocks first to see if you are happy enough with that as stock Mazda shocks are quite sporty (hard).

EFS are a quality product. I have been researching suspension for the last 2 years having a suffered spinal injuries. In that time I have found after cross-referencing both spring and shockabsorber rates that EFS produced the lowest spring preload and shock rates. So if you are after a more comfy ride, I would go EFS. In the rear however I would install Rancho RS9000 adjustable shockabsorbers so you can tune them to both your van and daily driving loads. Also if you were able to, getting your rear leaf springs reset would be better than the hefty leaf-packs offered in a typical 2"lift as most manufacturers market for a GVM upgrade. A weight distribution hitch will help as will a set of Firestone airbags. I had the BT-50 3.2L as well and I found the rear to be too light, altough my ball weight was about 270kg and a tare of 2400kg.

But if it were myself, I would install those items to set it up properly the first time for that long haul you speak of. I have done to my 76 series Landcruiser which has leaf springs in the rear as well and is much better than factory suspension and twice as plush as the previous lift kit I had.