Camp Oven Lamb Shanks

Bomber2012

How did you cook it in the oven?

Coals on top?
Gas on top?
Last nights one i cooked in the fire pit at home as i wanted to give the oven a run before going bush for a couple of weeks , but same as I cook it in the bush .
Shovel coals out and put the camp oven on top of them , then a shovel of coals on top , slow cook for minimum 2-3 hrs topping coals up when necessary .
If its hissing its to hot , the beef stock keeps it moist and reduces down to make a perfect gravy .
I reckon Lamb Shanks are ideal for the camp oven if the heat is well managed , the longer they cook the better they taste .:)

callmejoe

For liquid on the bottom instead of stock i just throw in a can of dice tomatoes. Some brands already come withs herbs/spice add as well.

dno67

Don't go buy a rabbit then, $20.oo odd dollars when I last
bought one. About 8 years ago.

Triton14

Nice one Bomber, good to see the camp oven doing what it was designed to do.

As a chef I normally find myself trying to make quick meals when out as time is always short but on the odd occasion I have done a couple of slow cooked dishes like 8 hour Moroccan lamb shoulder with a nice instant type cous cous & 8 hour beef brisket on store bought fire toasted sour dough with pickled cabbage(or coleslaw) & horseradish cream & onion relish.

I love the fact you can put dinner on at breakfast & it'll be ready when you get back at dinner time ;)

Les PK Ranger

4x4 Earth Contributer
Been doing lamb shanks, ribs, pork belly is bloody good too . . . bit of crackling went missing, burp.

IMG_1084a.jpg

Lots of different stuff in the camp oven, mostly started doing this on the mid year WA trip, as 5-1/2 weeks the usual lamb or beef would have gotten a bit boring !
Me and mate Dennis made cottage pie too, which is very easy and totally delicious.

IMG_0634a.jpg

Jason Watt

The closer the bone, the sweeter the meat.
Can't beat slow cooked lamb shanks in red wine and rosemary.