BillyGoat app project reveal

rhampton

Over the years, I've used most GPS products, inc ozi on a laptop, a few Garmins, and hema, memory map on the ipad more recently. They all have their strengths and weaknesses in terms of mapping support and features. e.g. ozi is really powerful but has a steep learning curve, where as garmins are easy to use but lack mapping.

I'm a software engineer by trade so I decided to start my own part-time project on ios back in 2015. Its now at a stage where major features are in place. Once its fully baked, my intention is to release it as free to use so its widely accessible to everyone. Assuming the community likes it, I will consider an Android release as well. In the meantime, there are some spots available for experienced gps users with ipads to participate in the early access program. Let me know if anyone is interested.

In this case, pictures speak a thousand words. Here are some screenshots of regions around melbourne and vic high country.

IMG_2774.PNG

^^^ Region around wonnangatta station

IMG_2775.PNG

^^^ BillyGoat Bluff track, one of my all time favs! Can you tell? :D

IMG_2778.PNG

^^^ Area just south of Warburton

IMG_2780.PNG

^^^ Porepunkah Plantation near Bright

IMG_2779.PNG

^^^ Map trivia time, where is this?

hiluxdriver

I can't help but notice you got a better response from the guessing game than assistance in developing your product.
I can't fault my Hema 4wd app, and I don't spend time in the VHC so I'm not a great candidate to assist. Good luck with it and please keep updating as I'll keep an eye on progress

phs

I think it looks great,

Being a big fan of memory map using the 25k topos in the HC this seems like a viable replacement due to the ongoing issues with MM

keep us posted

dno67

I don't understand downloading map files and all that guff, so l'm no real help.
I do however love a good map and if it was devaloped and packaged it could end up being a good thing.
Happy to watch it's progress.