Beginners day trip to the Upper Allyn (near Barrington Tops)

G'day all.
As a newbie, I thought I'd share my first day trek to Mt Allyn lookout in Chichester State Forest NSW (not far from Barrington tops), as I thought it may be of interest to anyone that was looking for a good starting point to gain experience, or just for a day out with great scenery. It was just the one car, my 100 series cruiser, and had a mate riding along with me(the former owner). I had just downloaded the ExploreOz App and maps on my Android tablet the night before, so I was using that for navigation(and learning how to use it as we went along). We headed off from East Gresford, and headed up the Allyn River Rd, which is sealed for quite a long way. We continued on just following the main dirt road that follows the river, until we came to fork with a sign that sent us off to the left. The roads to this point were very well maintained dirt. We carried on along the Paterson forest Rd past Shellbrook forest Rd, which branches off to the left, with a sign indicating that the road goes thru to Gresford, via Lostock Dam. The road starts to climb from about here and gets a little rougher, mainly rockier but not requiring 4WD. Once you get close to the top there is a sign indicating the road off to the left goes to the lookout. This track does get a bit narrow for cars to pass on, so you need to be aware, and does get a bit more rocky and rougher. Once up there the views are fantastic, and if you want you can go further up on foot and there is a better viewing area. On the way back down we stuck to the same route, but when we got to the Shellbrook Rd turn, we decided to try going that way back home, and have a kook at Lostock Dam. It soon became apparent that this track hadn’t been used regularly for quite a while. We pressed on downhill until we crossed a bridge over a small creek, and then saw that the track was pretty cut up with deep tyre ruts and was damp and slippery. You could also see that