Auto or Manual?

shalesh

Hello ,
i am new to the 4x4 game.
i am curently looking for a 4x4 ute mostly but i am open minded to a wagon.
i wanted to know a few things i should know aout buying my first 4x4.

Auto/Semi auto or manual?
Ute or Wagon?
Where can i get a second fuel tank?
best 4x4 wheels (i am guessing rocky terain tyres are the best option?)
would swamp boggers be crap for rocky/dusty terain?

how much would it take to turn a car into a good 4x4 car?

what should i be looking for?

sorry if these questions seem dumb i am really new and i dont want to make a wrong decision and stop our family from going camping in better positions. (lol, seems dumb i know)

thanks for your time !

croozza

Hello ,
i am new to the 4x4 game.
i am curently looking for a 4x4 ute mostly but i am open minded to a wagon.
i wanted to know a few things i should know aout buying my first 4x4.

Auto/Semi auto or manual?
Ute or Wagon?
Where can i get a second fuel tank?
best 4x4 wheels (i am guessing rocky terain tyres are the best option?)
would swamp boggers be crap for rocky/dusty terain?

how much would it take to turn a car into a good 4x4 car?

what should i be looking for?

sorry if these questions seem dumb i am really new and i dont want to make a wrong decision and stop our family from going camping in better positions. (lol, seems dumb i know)

thanks for your time !

Welcome aboard.
You should get an auto, it is the way of the future, and because you are new to this will be easier you you to learn how to 4wd, just remember you still change gears manually when off roading, and leave it in drive when on the road, unless when you are going down steep hills then you change down manually.
If you get a Landcruiser, Patrol, or Prado you get twin tanks anyway, if you still want more fuel, your friendly 4wd shop will put you in the right direction.
Keep the tyres you already have and use them for on road use, and buy a set of muddies and steel rims for off road use.