All factors considered, which 4wd will get me more places?

GussyD

Hi all, first post here. I’m just getting into 4wding and keen to get out and see as much of Australia as I can. I am yet to buy a fourbie and after weeks of researching I’m struggling to decide what to dump my cash on.
I have 3 vehicles that I’m currently looking at.
TD42 GU patrol Ute Or 1hdfte land cruiser
or
Pre DPF Ranger or Hilux
Or
2011 Holden RC Colorado 4jj1 engine (my uncle is selling one immaculate condition very low kms and completely stock)
Of course the patrol or land cruiser would be the most capable and probably most reliable especially when modified. Is an old school 4wd the best way to go? Or will a fairly modern IFS vehicle still allow me to reliably travel Australia’s most remote outback destinations?

Last edited:

Hoyks

A reliable vehicle being driven by someone that knows how to drive and has mechanical empathy will go furthest. Most outback and remote roads aren't hard, they are just a long way from anywhere. The side tracks of Wattagans is harder that 99% of Cape York.

An old dunger will cost you money.
Old diesels will cost a lot of money if they go wrong, diesels in general are expensive to fix.
A modified vehicle will cost you money.
35's and a Just send it mate attitude will definitely cost you money.

GussyD

A reliable vehicle being driven by someone that knows how to drive and has mechanical empathy will go furthest. Most outback and remote roads aren't hard, they are just a long way from anywhere. The side tracks of Wattagans is harder that 99% of Cape York.

Old diesels will cost a lot of money if they go wrong, diesels in general are expensive to fix.