1998 Holden Frontera Sport 2.0 - Help please.

Neil Cheetham

Hi everyone,

As noted in the new members posts, i have never really done much off-roading in the past so count myself as a complete beginner. I listened to what you all had to say and have ordered the '4wd trecks around Sydney' book online so that i can find some beginner/easy tracks to get use to being off the beaten track. I also went out and purchased a small compressor and an air tyre guage & deflater as one of the members mentioned the importance of tyre pressure

I have attached some photos of my new Frontera that i have purchased for mainly an off-road bit of fun/camping trips, however i will still need it to be functional on-road too.

20151102_132149_zps2vghnbqk.jpg

20151102_132131_zpsdzvctiet.jpg

20151102_132112_zpsawf5r6tv.jpg

Now to pick your brains -

Tyres - So, the current tyre size on the vehicle is 235/70/16 and i will be in need of new ones within the next 3000-5000kms. I was looking originally at the BFGoodrich All-Terrain 245/75/16 as a replacement but am a little concerned that the extra height on the tyre combined with the extra width could impact my steering when off road. Has anyone got any opinion on if this would be the issue? My other option would be the the Hankook dynapro AT-M RF10 245/70/16 Tyres. Im fairly sure that the width wouldn't be an issue after looking at the gap available with current tyres and the height would not alter from the current tyres i have on at the moment. I have also read reviews saying they are really nice tyres and with them being a fair bit cheaper than the BFG's, they're becoming very difficult to turn down.