Search results

1. R

Universal Joints

I was kind of surprised to see a UJ on a front hub. Is that common? I would have expected CV joints to have been used pretty much universally on all front wheels. I came across this video. (The interesting bit is at about the 13-minute mark.) I've become kind of addicted to watching Matt's...
  2. R

Some winch questions

I'm still learning about my new (used) car. It came with a winch. I asked the previous owner to demonstrate it. It had a couple of switches on the dash (an isolation switch, and one for in/out operation). It also came with a remote. The demo included the seller grabbing hold of the rope and...
  3. R

What do people know about roof racks?

My new (second hand) car has a rhino rack on it. It looks to be a good quality unit. Anyway, at the weekend I had the opportunity to use it. I put a large wooden bookcase on top. It seemed to carry it okay, but I wasn't game to travel more than 80kph. (Sorry to anyone travelling between Canberra...
  4. R

Vehicle modifications and buying second hand

My advice: if it's an engine change - walk away. In regard to other mods, consider the weight factor (of the mod and the vehicle) as well as the possibility that the mod may be breaching some regulation you may be unaware of. I bought a 2010 Suzuki Jimny not so long ago - $15,000. It's a small...
  5. R

Road handling on bitumen - slip sliding along.

I'm new to 4WDs. So, bear that in mind. My Suzuki Jimny is still new to me. Its been raised 50mm and has larger profile tyres (B F Goodrich Mud-Terrain T/A is what they are). I had a not so interesting experience on a little run from home to the local shopping centre and back. I was driving on...
  6. R

Used car prices