Search results

1. C

Engel or Waeco...

I have been using Engels (32L, 40L and 60L units) for 40 years with great reliability. My first model (60L) stopped working after 35 years. So I wont shift to another brand. I have never had an issue with noise. A few of my mates who also use Engels as a first choice have bought a 50l Waeco...
  2. C

Battery advice

I would get a battery that was the same size and terminal arrangement as your main battery but a hybrid crank and deep cycle. This permits you to swap the batteries if you are stuck. But this option may only give you 4 to 5 years battery life. A good deep cycle gel battery will last up to...
  3. C

Dwellingup tracks

Here are some maps/notes that might help Mike
  4. C

Calling all West Aussies

i'm number 3
  5. C

Goodyear Wrangler Adventure Kevlar any good?

Same here. I have been using the Goodtyear Wrangler ATs for over 30 years without issues. Good millage. Better sidewalls that the kevlar version offers would be a great advantage.
  6. C

Battery voltage vs % charge

All brand name battery manufacturers publish the battery specs and discharge curves. But as you say if you don't know where to look or who to ask its not easy to find this stuff.
  7. C

Electrical Apprenticeship

Contact Master Electricians and NECA and ask them if they could suggest some companies who you could approach. Not sure of the lay of the land in Vic but NECA in WA are one of the biggest employers of elecrtcal apprentices in WA (they operate under the name of Electrical Group Training - EGT)...
  8. C

Whats your favourite reel?

Mitchell 499 with modified (enlarged) aluminium spool and shortened handle.
  9. C

4wd Recovery Tracks

Yes its quick and easy. Before heading bush I lift the rubber insert in the racks (pre cut), remove the end caps and then slide in the mounting nuts with bolts and brackets to the roof rack. To get the roof rack end caps on I have filed them level with the top of the racks (depending...
  10. C