Change background image

Trailer battery charging

Discussion in 'Camping Trailers' started by Fittster, Nov 12, 2017.

1. Fittster

Fittster Member

Hi everyone, I have a question about charging my camper trailer battery while driving.

In my vehicle I have an aux battery all set up with a DC-DC charger and everything works fine.

I have run cable from the AUX battery under the bonnet to the rear of the car (Anderson plug at the end).

This plugs into my trailer.

I recently did a trip to Alice Springs and it seems that the trailer battery doesn’t fully charge, it only gets a bit over 50%.

I was told by an electric guy that this setup will work but like I said, it doesn’t seem to be. I would expect that after hours and hours of driving it would get full. Granted, I did have a large fridge running in the trailer at the same time but surely it should still get to 100%.

I have a theory but I’m not a professional on this stuff. The battery in the car is much smaller than the one in the trailer. Could it be that the trailer battery is only filling to what the AUX in the car is at 100%? The redarc is between the cranking battery and AUX in the car. Could it be switching off when the AUX is 100% and therefore the trailer one stops being charged? I was told it would work because you’re just making the battery bank bigger.

I know I could put another red arc in the trailer and run the cable to the rear of the car from the cranking battery but I was hoping I could save the money.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,
    Timmo

2. Tink

Tink Well-Known Member

When you say Redarc what model are you talking about?
    If it is a VSR like an SBI12 then all it will see is one big battery (aux plus CT battery combined) and charge both to about 95 odd percent given time. Voltage drop is your enemy. What size cable to back of vehicle and then to CT battery?